Travel just for travel’s sake

I love to travel. Even if travelling involves going only thirty minutes away from the place/town where you live.
I love the new dimensions that I discover when travelling, new thoughts that come to my mind, new things that I discover about myself, about others through conversations that you have on the way.
I was in Zagreb yesterday and, although I don’t enjoy staying at the same place for a long time, i.e. sitting for five hours, I kinda enjoy it as well. I love to gaze through the window and enjoy the scenery though I’ve seen it thousands of times previously.
I just love the act of moving!
Some famous writers say that moving is essential and only natural for men, while others claim that in order to move it’s unnecessary to change landscapes; all you need in order to travel is your mind and your imagination.
I agree with both…but prefer to travel and dream and  broaden my mind and boost my imagination as a I move than stay and dream without moving.
Here are some quotes that I find really inspiring…
Wandering re-establishes the original harmony which once existed between man and the universe.  ~Anatole France
No one realizes how beautiful it is to travel until he comes home and rests his head on his old, familiar pillow.  ~Lin Yutang
I have already mentioned the following one on the blog & it’s my favourite…
I travel not to go anywhere, but to go.  I travel for travel’s sake.  The great affair is to move.  ~Robert Louis Stevenson
There are two movies that I always hold on to whenever I feel like travelling but being unable to because I lack the money or time…I travel with my mind and this movie (mentioned in previous posts too..must mean I really love it!!) helps me wander away in a new sphere..
Love their deep conversations, spontaneity and eloquence, easiness with which they move through the city and their conversations. just perfect!
4 thoughts on “Travel just for travel’s sake

  1. Did you know that they’re working on a 3rd one now?! I love it too, for the same reasons you stated. I love travelling too, the act of moving, you’re so right.

Leave a Reply

